Facebook Settings Your Mom Would Tell You to Use (If She Knew About Them)

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

 

Be aware of what information is public and what information you control

Information anyone who accesses Facebook can see – regardless of whether or not you are friends with that person – is your: name, profile picture, gender, username, user ID (account number), and networks.  Because this information is available to the public, you should not include information in these categories that would allow someone you don’t know to find you.  For example, if you use a picture of you in a sweatshirt with the name of your school on it, it will be much easier to figure out where you go to school.  This could also give someone who doesn’t know you a better idea of where you live, where you shop and where you hang out.

Photos – A person who can see your photos has a virtual window into every aspect of your life which you post a picture of.  In addition, friends can post pictures and “tag” you in them, making them visible to your friends, even though you did not take or post the picture.  You have control over who can see pictures you post.  Learn how to control who can see photos you post.

You can also control which of your friends see photos posted by others, although the person who posted the photos has ultimate control over that.  To start, you can change your privacy settings so that any tags of you have to be approved by you before they appear on your profile timeline.  If you’ve already been tagged, you will get a notification of this from Facebook.  You can then untag yourself in any pictures by clicking the “untag” link next to your name at the bottom of the picture.  Finally, you can change your privacy settings so that only you can see pictures of you posted and tagged by others.  Keep in mind, however, if the person who posted the picture has given permission for friends to see the pictures, their friends – including any friends the two of you have mutually – will still be able to see it.

Status Updates – Access to this information could share personal information about where you go and thoughts you may not want shared with those who do not know you.  You control who sees your status updates.  To change who can see this information, change your status updates privacy settings.

Information such as school, relationship status, religion, and “likes” – You may not want to share this information with those who do not know you.  You control who sees your personal information.  To change who can see this information, change your privacy settings to limit who sees your personal information.

Contact Information – It is recommended that you not have this information on your account (other than the e-mail address that is required to sign-up for an account).  If you must have this information on your account, it is recommended that you set the privacy level to “Only Me.”  If you decide to share this information, consider carefully who you share it with.  And while there is a space for your home address, this information is not required and should NEVER be available to the public. You control who sees your contact information.  To change who can see this information, change your privacy settings to limit who sees your contact information.

 

Networks

Think about whether you want to join any networks, because doing so makes your profile easier for others to find.  Depending on how you feel about others finding you (as opposed to say you finding them), this might be either a good thing or a drawback.

Regional Networks - this simply reflects the area – usually a city, but may be a larger geographic area – where you live.

High School Networks – only students currently attending a school can join that high school’s network.  In order to join a high school’s network, Facebook requires that you “friend” current classmates who are already members of the school’s network, then ask that they confirm that you attend school with them.  Once it has been confirmed that you are currently enrolled at that school, you will be joined in the school’s network.  Remember that networks are public information, so if you join your school’s network, anyone who views your public profile will know what school you attend.

College Networks – only students who are currently attending a college, or are alumni of that college, can join a college’s network.  In order to join a college’s network, Facebook requires that you add a school-issued email address, to which you have access, to your profile (for example, if you want to join University College’s network, you must attend University College, which you prove by adding your University College e-mail address – i.e. This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it – to your profile).

 

Accepting friend requests

The web is a fun and exciting place.  One reason that is the case is because there is such a wide diversity of people present on the web.  And although it might seem fun to “meet” new people through the web, it is wisest to only accept friend requests from people you know in real life.  While people should be open and honest about their identity when creating a profile on a social networking site, the truth is that anyone can make up a name and post a photograph.  If you have 500 Facebook friends can you really say that you “know” all those people?

Depending on the privacy settings you have set-up, your Facebook friends may have access to a lot of personal information about you.  Someone who has access to your profile can tell a lot about you.  A person who is able to see your photos – both those you have posted yourself and those that your friends have posted and tagged you in – may be able to determine even more.  A person you are Facebook friends with may be able to figure out where you live, where you go to school, where you spend your free time, what kind of car you drive, what your friends and members of your family look like, even your siblings’ names!  This is far more information than many of us would give to a stranger face-to-face, yet if you accept every Facebook friend request you receive, you risk doing just that.

 

“Checking-in” at locations – and allowing others to check you in

“Checking-in” uses the old mobile Places app that posts to Facebook about where a member is at the time that member “checks in.”  The newer way to do this is by a member simply posting where they are at that time.  Members can also tag any friends who may be with them in the post.  If you are tagged in one of these posts, it will show up both on the profile of the person making the post and on yours – and therefore in friends’ News Feeds.  Checking in and being tagged in posts could raise safety concerns because it could make it easier for those who don’t know you to find you and/or to know where you spend time.  Allowing others to check you into places, or tag you in posts without your approval, could cause even greater concerns because their settings control who sees those posts, not yours.  Find out how to control whether other people can check you in or tag you in posts.

 

Other Issues

You may also want to read Facebook’s general FAQs, which includes information on matters from profile privacy to tagging in pictures and posts.

 

Search the site | Ask question

Visit Other States

We have 512 guests online