Arrested

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Laws are set to protect kids and adults when dangerous instruments are involved. This applies to driving a car as well as to possession of guns. In Arizona, the law states that kids under the age of 18 are not allowed to carry guns. (ARS 13-3111). This law also provides some exceptions where kids are allowed to have and use a gun under certain restricted conditions. For example, a kid can carry a gun if he or she is with a parent, grandparent, qualified hunter, safety instructor, or qualified firearms safety instructor as long as there is permission from a parent or guardian. When involved in lawful hunting or shooting events or marksmanship practice, kids between the ages of 14 and 18 are allowed to be in possession of a firearm.(ARS 13-3111). Because there are many exceptions and details in this statute, you may want to read the law or consult a gun expert or Glossary Link lawyer before actually possessing a firearm.

Deadly Weapons:

Arizona Law (ARS 13-3101) says that a Deadly weapon is anything that is designed for lethal use, including a firearm.

It is against Arizona law to carry a firearm or any deadly weapon on a school campus. (ARS 13-3102)

 
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

(Possession and Use of a Vapor Releasing Toxic Substance)

Huffing is against the law. It is against the law to knowingly breathe, inhale, or drink a vapor-releasing toxic substance. Common things that fit this definition are glue, spray paint, gasoline, etc.

There are regulations regarding the sale of inhalants. Using or selling these substances is regarded as a class 5 felony or a class 1 misdemeanor depending on the seriousness of the offense. (ARS 13-3403).

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Shoplifting is more than just leaving a store with something you did not pay for. Shoplifting is also obtaining goods by charging the purchase price of an item to a fictitious person; paying less than the purchase price of the item by changing the labels in some way; moving the item to a different container; and hiding the item in some way from view. (A.R.S. § 13-1805).

If you are a Glossary Link minor, your parents or legal guardian can be held responsible for any damages that you caused. (A.R.S. § 12-661). Shoplifting property with a value of more than $2,000 is a class 5 felony. Shoplifting with a value of less than $250.00 is a class 1 misdemeanor.

If you are found guilty of shoplifting, you could be fined, have to perform community service, or be placed on probation with up to one year in detention. (A.R.S. § 13-1805) If found guilty of shoplifting you might also be required to pay a penalty of $100.00 in addition to the actual damages to the owner (the price of what you took).(A.R.S. § 12-692)

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail
An assault is committed any time a person knowingly causes physical injury to another person. It is also any time that someone may feel physically threatened or when someone touches someone else to provoke or insult them. (A.R.S. § 13-1203). Sometimes assault is classified as a misdemeanor. Aggravated assault is a felony. It is important to know this and to realize that fighting can be illegal. If you are involved in a fight, you could also be charged with disorderly conduct or disturbing the peace.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Possession and use of marijuana is either a felony or a misdemeanor. Possession of marijuana that you intend to sell is a felony. Possession and use of marijuana can result in probation, attending classes on the harmful effects of drugs, and performing community service. (ARS 13-3405). You may also lose your driving privileges.

An adjudication on a marijuana charge goes on your record and can follow you throughout your life. For example, a candidate for a U.S. Supreme Court appointment was disqualified after admitting he had used marijuana as a student.

More Articles...

Page 1 of 2