UPDATE 9/1/01 - the legal limit for alcohol in your system (blood alcohol content) to be considered DUI was lowered from .10 to .08 in Arizona. Although it is illegal for you to drink if you are not 21 years of age, this new law lowers the threshold for being legally drunk while driving. There are very serious consequences to drinking and driving...
If you are under 18 years old, you are considered a minor or a juvenile. If you are a juvenile and arrested and convicted for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs this is what will happen:
1. You will be incarcerated for 24 hours in a juvenile detention center or the Arizona Department of Juvenile Corrections for a first time DUI.
2. Your drivers license or privileges will be suspended for two(2) years.
3. You must pay a fine of at least $100 and not more than $500 plus surcharges.
4. You must undergo mandatory drug and alcohol screening, education and treatment and pay all the costs. Your parent or guardian may also be ordered to pay the costs.
5. You may be ordered to perform at least 80 hours of community service.
6. The DUI conviction will remain on your drivers license record for 60 months.
If you commit a second DUI violation within 60 months you will be:
1. Locked up for 30 days in a juvenile detention center or the Arizona Department of Juvenile Corrections.
2. All fines, penalties and mandatory testing are applied as in a first offense.
If you commit a 3rd DUI offense within 60 months, you are now guilty of Aggravated DUI and the penalty includes:
Locked up for a minimum of 4 months and all fines, penalties and mandatory testing apply.
If you commit a 4th DUI offense within 60 months, you will be:
Locked up for a minimum of 8 months and all fines, penalties and mandatory testing apply.
If you are a juvenile and commit a DUI while you are driving on a canceled, suspended, revoked or refused drivers license any prior offense or on a restricted license for a prior DUI, you are guilty of a class 4 felony. The punishment is the same as though you had a prior two(2) DUI's and this the 3rd DUI, meaning that you may spend up to 4 months in lockup.
If you are a juvenile and commit a DUI while you are driving on a license that has been cancelled, suspended, revoked, or restricted for a prior DUI, you are guilty of a class 4 felony. You will spend 30 days in a juvenile detention center or incarcerated at the Arizona Department of Juvenile Corrections. You will also receive a chronic offender notice.
If you are under 21 years of age and are in possession of an alcoholic substance, you can be found guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor. If you are under 21 years of age, it is against the law to drive or be in physical control of a motor vehicle while there is any spirituous liquor in your body (A.R.S. § 4-244(34)).
A person under 21 years old who asks someone else to purchase, sell or furnish them with alcohol is guilty of a class 3 misdemeanor and could receive a penalty of a maximum of 30 days in jail, a $500 fine plus surcharges (A.R.S. § 13-802) and suspension of a drivers license or permit (A.R.S. § 4-241(D))
A person under 21 years old who uses false identification to buy or be furnished with alcohol is guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor and could receive a penalty of 6 months in jail and a $2,500 fine plus surcharges (A.R.S. § 13-707) including suspension of a drivers license or permit (A.R.S. § 4-241(C),(E))
What is Methamphetamine?
Methamphetamine is a highly addictive stimulant that is manufactured in illegal labs under dangerous conditions. The manufacture of methamphetamine has a severe impact on the environment. The production of one pound of methamphetamine releases poisonous gas into the atmosphere and creates 5 to 7 pounds of toxic waste. Many laboratory operators dump the toxic waste down household drains, in fields and yards, or on rural roads causing dangerous conditions for anyone coming in contact with the waste. Effects of usage include addiction, psychotic behavior, brain damage, extensive tooth decay ("meth mouth"), open sores on the body, and an overall decrease in the quality of life.
Arizona law classifies methamphetamine as a dangerous drug (A.R.S. §13-3401) and makes it a crime to knowingly use, possess, buy, sell, transport, or manufacture. It is also a crime to possess the equipment or chemicals to manufacture Methamphetamine. (A.R.S. §13-3407). The criminal penalties for violation of the laws are harsh and include significant prison time and fines. (A.R.S. §13-712).
Read a story about one teenager’s use of methamphetamine and what she learned in the LawForKids.org Stories Section.
Read a special series from the Arizona Republic about how methamphetamine use has affected local residents.
To learn more about substance abuse and ways to get help, The Arizona Parents Commission on Drug Education and Prevention is a website to increase education about the serious risks and public health problems caused by abuse of alcohol and controlled substances.
For a better understanding about methamphetamine, The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) provides a scientific description of this highly addictive substance as well as its effects. NIDA also has a website for teens that presents science-based information about the effects of drugs on the brain and body so that teens will be equipped with better information to make healthy decisions.
The United States Drug Enforcement Agency gives information about methamphetamine, the facts about its use nationwide, national news about methamphetamine and resources for getting help with a methamphetamine addiction.
The American Dental Association describes the dental effects of methamphetamine use.
Page 6 of 8