Create PDF Write e-mail Imprimir

Question

Who is not allowed to have handgun or handgun permits?

Answer

There are a number of laws dealing with guns - but there are really only a few that are important for us to answer your question.

Arizona law (ARS §13-3111) states that, generally, minors (people under 18) are not allowed to carry or possess a gun. It does have exceptions, but these exceptions are quite specific:

  • if the minor has been "emancipated" (declared legally independent of his parents);
  • if the minor is 14, 15, 16 or 17 years old and who is:
    1. engaged in lawful hunting or shooting events or marksmanship practice at established ranges or other areas where the discharge of a firearm is not prohibited,
    2. engaged in lawful transportation of an unloaded firearm for the purpose of lawful hunting,
    3. engaged in lawful transportation of an unloaded firearm between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. for the purpose of shooting events or marksmanship practice at established ranges or other areas where the discharge of a firearm is not prohibited, or
    4. engaged in activities requiring the use of a firearm that are related to the production of crops, livestock, poultry, livestock products, poultry products, or ratites or in the production or storage of agricultural commodities.

Arizona law (ARS §13-3111)also says that if the person under 18 is in possession of a firearm, a peace officer shall seize the firearm at the time the violation occurs, and goes on to define the minor's punishment. This law says that the minor may be made a delinquent juvenile, be ordered to pay a fine of not more than two hundred fifty dollars, and/or the court may order the suspension or revocation of the person's driver license until the person reaches 18 years old. (If the person does not have a driver license, the court may direct that a driver license not be issued to the person until they reach 18 years old)

Furthermore, Arizona law (ARS §13-3111) defines people in general who are not allowed to possess a firearm. Any person:

  • who has been found to constitute a danger to himself or to others, and whose court ordered treatment has not been terminated by court order;
  • who has been convicted within or without this state of a felony or who has been adjudicated delinquent and whose civil right to possess or carry a gun or firearm has not been restored,
  • who is at the time of possession serving a term of imprisonment in any correctional or detention facility,
  • who is at the time of possession serving a term of probation pursuant to a conviction for a domestic violence offense or a felony offense, parole, community supervision, work furlough, home arrest or release on any other basis or who is serving a term of probation or parole.
Added:
Viernes 23 de Julio de 2010
Revised:
Viernes 23 de Julio de 2010